BFTA Review: Suzanne Collins – Catching Fire

Collins_Suzanne-CatchingFire

Title: Catching Fire
Author: Suzanne Collins
Series: The Hunger Games #2
Scholastic Press
Rating: 4/5

Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol–a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.

Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she’s afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she’s not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol’s cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can’t prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying. (goodreads.com)

I initially read The Hunger Games as part of a challenge, and I’m really glad I did, because I couldn’t put the book down. Catching Fire fell right in line, and I devoured the book in mere hours. I loved it.

I also hated it, because I read it in mere hours and I was that much closer to finishing it.
I loved that we were back in the arena for another round of Games, because I had so much fun reading about them in the first book, but I was also a little disappointed because there wasn’t a lot of time spent there.

By the end, I just really wanted to crack open Mockingjay, so that’s exactly what I did….

Originally posted 27 March 2011.

One thought on “BFTA Review: Suzanne Collins – Catching Fire

  1. Pingback: The Fandom Games Part 3 | FanFiction Fridays

Leave a Reply

