Review: Meg Cabot – Every Boy’s Got One

Cabot_Meg-EveryBoysGotOne

Title: Every Boy’s Got One
Author: Meg Cabot
Series: Boy #3
Avon Trade
Rating: 3 / 5

Cartoonist Jane Harris is delighted by the prospect of her first-ever trip to Europe. But it’s hate at first sight for Jane and Cal Langdon, and neither is too happy at the prospect of sharing a villa with one another for a week–not even in the beautiful and picturesque Marches countryside. But when Holly and Mark’s wedding plans hit a major snag that only Jane and Cal can repair, the two find themselves having to put aside their mutual dislike for one another in order to get their best friends on the road to wedded bliss–and end up on a road themselves … one neither of them ever expected. (goodreads.com)

The third installment of the “Boy” series is much like the first two–capable of being read as a stand-alone, but works perfectly well in a series, also. The formatting is the same, but consists of much more journal entries than the previous two books. Also, a lot of Italian, which was difficult for me (hooray for translations), if only because I don’t speak a lick of Italian.

Anyway, this one was much slower for me than Boy #2, but I can’t exactly pinpoint why. It wasn’t that any of the characters were extremely unlikable, and it’s not because the plot didn’t move, because the characters were okay and the plot moved just fine.

However, I suppose I just wasn’t in the mood for fluff as much as I initially thought I was, because this book, despite only taking a few hours to read, definitely felt like I was slogging through molasses, which is odd because that hardly ever happens with Cabot’s books, at least for me.

The characters, Jane and Cal, dislike each other from the start, so it’s your classic, “I hate you but I love you” situation. Despite being a rather tired, slightly cliched plot, Cabot provides the reader with enough character growth and comedy that I, at least, was able to overlook the overdone plot and enjoy it (despite my inability to speed through it).

Overall, I like Cabot’s writing. This time, at least for this book, the formatting (in the form of e-mails, voicemails, etc.) was incapable of holding my attention, possibly because I’d finished book 2 immediately before starting this one, so maybe I was just burned out on it.

Leave a Reply

