Review: Meg Cabot – Boy Meets Girl

Cabot_Meg-BoyMeetsGirl

Title: Boy Meets Girl
Author: Meg Cabot
Series: Boy #2
Avon Trade
Rating: 3 / 5

Meet Kate Mackenzie. She:

* works for the T.O.D. (short for Tyrannical Office Despot, also known as Amy Jenkins, Director of the Human Resources Division at the New York Journal)
* is sleeping on the couch because her boyfriend of ten years refuses to commit
* can’t find an affordable studio apartment anywhere in New York City
* thinks things can’t get any worse

They can. Because:

* The T.O.D. is making her fire the most popular employee in the paper’s senior staff dining room
* that employee is now suing Kate for wrongful termination, and
* now Kate has to give a deposition in front of Mitch Hertzog, the scion of one of Manhattan’s wealthiest law families, who embraces everything Kate most despises … but also happens to have a nice smile and a killer bod.

The last thing anybody—least of all Kate Mackenzie—expects to find in a legal arbitration is love. But that’s the kind of this that can happen when … BOY MEETS GIRL. (goodreads.com)

It’s no secret that I actually do like Meg Cabot. I sometimes find her characters annoying, especially her no-spine female characters, but at the same time, her books are a nice escape from some of the more serious books I read (and a nice escape from all the paranormal and horror I read, as well). A few years back, I read the first book in the series (it must have been before I started the book blogging thing, because I never reviewed it), and I must have liked it, because it sort of stuck with me. I can’t remember the characters, but I do remember the formatting (e-mails, IM’s, etc.), and this book is no different. It’s a cute, different way of telling a story, and while it does get a little frustrating at times, because the same situations are being discussed between different people through, for example, voicemails, or e-mails, or IM’s, or memos, or whatever, but the overall effect is kind of fun.

Also, fortunately, there are no spoilers for a series in this review, because each book can be read as a stand-alone. It just happens to be in a series because the characters somewhat intertwine through their workplace or mutual friends, as well as the formatting mentioned above.

At any rate, outside of the main characters, Kate and Mitch, as well as Kate’s friend Jen and her husband Craig, I must admit that the rest of the characters were so dispicable that, at one point or another, I nearly stopped reading.

“Gasp,” I hear you say. “Say it isn’t so!”

Yes, seriously. And it was mostly because of this:

“There are several well-established and respectable organizations that will, for a fee, transport (forcibly, if necessary) a child to a sexual-orientation rehabilitation center.” (p 304)

This is part of a letter from Mitch’s brother, Stuart, to their sister, Stacy. I very nearly stopped reading after that. My brain came to a halt. Screeching, slamming-on-brakes halt. I read the line again. And again. And finally I had to add it to my status update on goodreads because I couldn’t believe I’d just read that.

Of course, Stuart’s fiance (and Kate and Jen’s boss, the TOD or “Amy”, as she’s referred to by the rest of the world), is just as bad, being so damn judgemental, and potentially not wanting to marry Stuart, because, somewhere down the line, Stuart and Mitch’s family were Jewish. Not to mention the lying to save her own ass, but then is found out about it, and all kinds of drama happens, and the he-said-she-said and… ugh.

I really nearly stopped reading. Of course, by the time I got to the point of, “I really don’t want to read this anymore”, I was practically almost done, so I said, “what the hell?” and finished it anyway.

I’m actually pretty glad I did, because Mitch and Stuart’s dad, who’d been absent the entire book due to hopping from one golf course to another, issues an epic smackdown at the very end of the book to his neurotic family.

But overall it was a nice, fluffy book. I don’t read Meg Cabot for the serious romance, and I don’t read her for the supernatural. When I pick up her books, I want a quick, fluffy read. And that’s exactly what I got with Boy Meets Girl.

Leave a Reply

