Review: Julie Kagawa – The Iron Queen

Kagawa_Julie-TheIronQueen

Title: The Iron Queen
Author: Julie Kagawa
Series: The Iron Fey #3
Harlequin Teen
Rating: 4 / 5

My name is Meghan Chase.
I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who’s sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I’m not sure anyone can survive it.
This time, there will be no turning back.

WARNING: Here be even more spoilers!

OMG GUYS!!!!

This was definitely my favorite book so far. Here’s why:

Ash. and. Meghan.

Of course, despite the camps of Team Ash and Team Puck, who in their right mind wouldn’t realistically look at these books and go, “Of course Meghan ends up with Ash. Duh.”

Okay, we’ve already established Meghan isn’t my favorite character ever. Although, she has a moment wherein she has clarity about herself, and it shocks her:

He wouldn’t care if Ash cut me down or turned me into an icicle. Probably has a bet going with Leanansidhe to see how long that will take. (p 107)

Meghan’s talking about Grimalkin, and she acknowledges a moment later that she can’t believe she’s thought that about either one of them. Of course, this clarity doesn’t last, because just a little bit later she has a severly selfish thought about Ash, and whether or not to let him go instead of asking him to be her knight, to spare him a miserable death in the Iron Kingdom.

Knowing Meghan, we know which one she chose, right?

(I also want to add that I’ve disliked this whole promise and vow and no-longer-my-choice thing going on with the fae from the start. I get that it’s part of the lore and all, and I really like that it’s consistant and that it’s true of all fae, but… I just don’t like it.)

I kind of started to like Meghan in this, too. She becomes a little stronger, able to take care of herself a little better (which Ash is none to happy about, and they argue over this point until he realizes he’s and ass and she realizes she’s a jerk). She also starts to really get her Iron Queen powers, and she can talk to the gremlins.

Razor, of course, became one of my favorite characters EVER:

The gremlin grinned madly, and then with a screech that sounded almost maniacal, scuttled from his hiding place… (p 205)

Razor was so much fun to read about. So. Much. Fun. I love fun characters, even if they’re short-lived and only have so much screen time.

And, ok, I give. I actually liked Ash in this one. Even though he was all emo sometimes (“woe is me, woe is me”), he had some redeeming qualities in this one that really made him endearing. And Puck went downhill big-time before coming back up for me.

Now I really want to talk about the ending, because it wasn’t all HEA.

I love a bittersweet ending. LOVE IT. And I was so damn happy that this book had one, mostly because I get so sick of HEAs, so effing sick of them, that when I read the ending, I actually went YAY. Not because of the characters, but because HEAs are not so realistic.

Of course, then The Iron Knight happened, and all that YAY went out the window. Upcoming is my review of TIK.

Leave a Reply

