Review: Julie Kagawa – The Iron Daughter

Kagawa_Julie-TheIronDaughter

Title: The Iron Daughter
Author: Julie Kagawa
Series: The Iron Fey #2
Harlequin Teen
Rating: 3.5 / 5

Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron fey–ironbound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her.
Worse, Meghan’s own fey powers have been cut off. She’s stuck in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can’t help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

WARNING: Here be spoilers!

I’ve cut the rest of the review, so unless you’re linked directly to it, all spoilers will be hidden unless you select to read it all.

Horray! Guys, I liked this one definitely better than the first book (I know my rating doesn’t reflect that, but I’ll explain why in a bit).

So book two picks up about three months after book one left off, with Meghan in the Winter Court, fulfilling a promise she had made to Ash. She makes a lot of mistakes, people die, and Ash, Puck, Meghan and Grim embark on another adventure. I loved, loved, loved the Winter Court, btw. Well, ok, except that Mab turned people into ice statues. That was more than a little creepy.

I want to talk about Rowan for a minute, beause oh, my, god. Rowan is probably one of the crazier characters I’ve run into in YA fiction. His absolute conviction that what he’s doing is absolutely correct, and anyone standing against him must die. I loved it, in a sick, twisted way, because Rowan has the potential to become a real villian. And he kind of does.

So anyway, Ash escapes with Meghan after Queen Mab turns her into a living ice statue, and eventually they run into Puck.

And then Meghan runs into Puck, and lo-and-behold, we have our triangle.

Fuck. (At this point I really, really almost stopped reading, because the so obvious relations between this and Twilight got to me, but I kept on. Go me.)

From here on out it’s a lot of not-so-witty banter and death glares between Ash and Puck, because they’re obviously fighting over Meghan but also Ash’s former girlfriend, Ariella, whom Puck accidentally got killed. Ash is an ass, Puck is sometimes witty, sometimes a complete idiot (you know, for being so old, he really has a hard time getting that when he invokes the ire of some random troll or other fae creature, he is essentially putting Meghan in danger. Way to go, Puck. At least Ash is obvious about his asshole nature).

But guys! Meghan isn’t completely clear of this, either. Ash disappears for a while, leaving her with Puck, and here’s what she thinks:

Ash was gone; he had already made up his mind. Why not try with Puck? (p 100)

WTF Meghan, WTF indeed. It was at this point that I went from general indifference to outright dislike. Meghan also is able to control the Iron Fey, able to issue commands and they actually listen.

Ok, so far we’ve established that our three mains were all jerks to each other (Meghan to Puck, Ash to everyone, and Puck to Ash and maybe a little bit accidentally with Meghan). BUT….

Grim and Ironhorse were such redeeming characters in this one. Guys, I love Grim so much! He’s hilarious. And his, “Because I’m a cat,” line is so damn brilliant. And Ironhorse was such a good character for me. I loved how he was able to come back from being a bad guy, one of Machina’s lieutenants, to a good guy, and all it takes is a conversation with Meghan.

I had so much sympathy for Ironhorse and I was so sad when he OMG DIED. SO SAD.

*Sigh* Guys, I really wish I had liked this book more than I did, because it would have given me so much hope for the third book, but nooooo….

I will say this, though. Kagawa remains consistant in her writing style and characterizations, and she really has a knack for writing scenery. Beautiful scenery.

Leave a Reply

